The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich: Review

The Love Interest

2/5 stars. 

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary. GLBT

Series: Standalone

The Story:

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: the boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: the brooding, dark-souled guy who is dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose the Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be—whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

My review: SPOILERS AHEAD

This book gave a very promising story of two guys that are supposed to win the heart of a very awkward and cringy girl named Juliet, but instead, they fall for each other. Sounds good? Lol, no think again. This book had so much potential to be fucking AMAZING, but it was executed very very badly.

PROS:
○The beginning was actually very interesting. The whole idea of a company making love interests’ for people was so intriguing and fun to read about. I loved learning about how this entire organization operates. Making “Bad” and “Nice” guys/girls who work in a love triangle to win the heart of the girl/boy. The Bad and Nice have to compete against each other and who ever loses dies. I enjoyed the first 100 pages of this because everything was being introduced and it was such an original and cool idea.
○That’s literally about it.

THEN THINGS WENT DOWN REAL BAD AND FAST.

○Juliet was introduced.
○She is the most awkward, dumb, and cringiest person to ever fucking exist in the human race.
○Does she not know how to speak with people?
○BITCH YOU IS KNOWN TO BE A PRODIGY, YET YOU CANNOT FUCKING ENGLISH.

 

“Why are you looking at me like that?”
I shrug my shoulders. “I can’t help it.”
“I—I,” she stammers. “I have no idea how to respond to that, so I’m going to ignore it. Anyway, Caden, I can’t believe I almost forgot to show you my absolute favorite thing. Do you want to see my lab?”

 

○I’m sorry, but who in the name of fuck talks like that??? If I ever spoke like that, I’d leave earth and go to Mars to die. Like, this girl is the smartest person in the entire world and she speaks like a fucking 4 year old, JESUS FUCK.

Like, just shhhh don’t open your mouth, thanks, you’re helping out the community a lot with your service of shutting the fuck up !!

○Okay now go find a hot human male body. Put all the organs and shit in it. Wait, don’t put a brain though otherwise we won’t be able to make our MC Caden !!! Make sure Caden’s vocabulary only consists of the word “frigging.” Now go get the same ingredients, but don’t put a personality and give this brain only FIVE brain cells! *POOF* it’s your own personal Dylan! Like, Jesus fuck, these characters are so fucking one dimensional and dull as fuck, like boi did your fucking personality fly out the fucking window or something??

○The romance is so…forced. It’s fucking cringy insta love and honestly??? it would have been great if there was no romance at all because I’m suffering from cringeitis now. There is no fucking development and they literally have don’t even get to know each other that well. Like, is this what love’s like when you’re high? Because WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS?

Dylan: *climbs into Caden’s window for the first time*
Dylan: kiss me babeh
Caden: uh sure why not
*they do da smoochy smoochy*
Caden: I….I think I like you more than a friend, omg I think I’m falling in love….omg someone help me I’m falling…JESUS, I’M GONNA HIT THE BOTTOM SO FUCKING HARD, OH GOD STOP I’M FUCKING FALLING IN LOVE, FUCK. I’M FALLING SO HARD I’M GONNA FUCKING HIT THE BOTTOM SO FAST AND DIE.

no I didn’t exaggerate anything, stop looking at me like that.

○Wait, can we talk about that ending…..because fuck, it’s so unrealistic. Like, how the fuck can these four fucking kids overthrow a fucking entire organization that had been GOING ON for fucking ages, man, how the fuck even? They literally, overthrew it in 5 seconds??? Talk about unrealistic.

○And what the fuck was Dylan’s deal at the end? At one point he tells Caden he lied about liking him and he’s into girls only??? And then a year later, in the epilogue, THEYVATE FUCKING KISSING AND LYING TOGETHER AND ACTING LIKE A COUPLE AND FUCK WHaT EVEN HAPPENED? Did I miss something? (Well I probably did because I skimmed a lot in the end.)

Overall the best part about this book was when it ended.

Good of the bye.

Ahahahahahahah fuckin hell this book wasnt allowed to be a disappointment.

2 thoughts on “The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich: Review

Leave a Reply

